Her Mother's Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Diane Chamberlain

Publisher: MIRA

ISBN: 148805312X

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 1692

Get swept up in the continuing emotional saga of Kiss River in this final compelling instalment of the Keeper of the Light trilogy, from New York Times bestselling author Diane Chamberlain. Annie A loving mother and wife, Annie O’Neill was the heart of the small community of Kiss River. But her generous nature hid a darker side that remained secret for years after her tragic death. Lacey When Lacey O’Neill finally learns the shattering truth about the mother she’s spent a decade emulating, the foundation of her life begins to crumble. Then her close childhood friend dies, leaving her teenage daughter, Mackenzie, in Lacey’s care, and Lacey unwillingly finds herself in the role of mother. Mackenzie Uprooted by her mother’s death, Mackenzie resents her new home of Kiss River. She wants nothing to do with the father who never knew she existed—and especially not her mother’s oldest friend. But the person who could understand her best might be the one she resents most: Lacey. Originally published in 2004

My Mother's Shadow: The unputdownable summer read about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nikola Scott

Publisher: Headline

ISBN: 9781472241160

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 7649

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why? 'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore. Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets... 1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous... Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie? How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever. 'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan. 'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox

In Her Mother's Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Faye Thompson

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9781893196537

Category: Fiction

Page: 255

View: 3192

When young Bronze Sutton gets engaged to Brandon Wilde, his ex-girlfriend, Bria Moore, the niece of an Atlanta congressman, wages war on the couple, which threatens Bronze's relationship with her mother.

Our Mothers' Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Bonita Constance

Publisher: America Star Books

ISBN: 1462670032

Category: Fiction

Page: 130

View: 601

A secret society of women, borne of gender oppression and brutality in the form of forced female circumcision, existed for centuries in Africa. They arrive on American soil via the slave trade, adapting and ultimately thriving in the new world. Today, four young women, raised together within the society, try to fit in, however, their unusual upbringing, their entry into womanhood and the unorthodox manner in which they relate to the world around them marks them and, ultimately, takes a tragic toll on most of their lives. Ania, the most intuitively gifted, is the glue that holds the four together. Strange, conflicted, and unabashedly sexual, Ania must balance her desire to join the innermost circle of the society with a perverse rebellious streak, which makes her long for fulfillment in other areas of her life. Ania=s rebellious streak prompts her, as an adult attorney, to take a case defending a man accused of sexual contact with a minor female in the post‑Megan=s Law era. Ania doesn=t notice that a terrible storm is brewing within the societyCa storm which will plunge her headfirst into a whirlwind of events that will mark her life and very soul in a manner she never imagined possible.

This Mean Disease

Growing Up in the Shadow of My Mother's Anorexia Nervosa

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Daniel Becker

Publisher: Gurze Books

ISBN: 0936077506

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 183

View: 9354

The author recalls his mother's struggle with anorexia and her eventual death from the disease, recalling a childhood filled with memories of trips to the hospital, bizarre behavior, and a crippling obsession with food. Original.

A Mother's Shadow

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Carrie Groneman

Publisher: Mother's Shadow

ISBN: 9780991138302

Category:

Page: 342

View: 6751

Emily Cross is a pioneer in every sense of the word. Navigating a new marriage, as well as journeying to unsettled territory in the early 1800s United States, she has many lessons to learn. Through the indescribable joys, along with profound heartache, Emily grows closer to, and knowing God. Emily's story provides inspiration for prevailing through hard times with dignity, faith, and courage. Each chapter has a section that will urge readers to live a better life and how to leave a noble legacy for generations to come. Part historical fiction, part self-help, A MOTHER'S SHADOW will prompt readers to live a richer, Christian-centered life. Come along as we learn more about our self while we follow Emily's adventures in 1800 USA.

My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Nikola Scott

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472241177

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 8271

Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why? 'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous A NO. 1 BESTSELLER IN NORWAY A BESTSELLER IN ISRAEL Perfect for fans of BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate. Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets... 1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous... Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie? How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever. 'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan. 'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox What readers are saying about My Mother's Shadow: 'One of the most enthralling, heartbreaking books that I have read in quite some time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'The poignant storyline is deeply affecting. Definitely a book that is going to stay with me for a long time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'So beautifully written. In places it made me laugh out loud and in other places it made me cry. Poignant' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'I was hooked from beginning to end! Vivid characters and evocative scenes make this an enchanting read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Stunning and emotional' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'This novel absolutely blew me away! I was left emotional and teary. It had me gripped from the startand is loaded with scenes that pull at the heartstrings! I cannot recommend this novel enough' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'A stunning read and I can't wait to read more from this author' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Shadow Mothers

Nannies, Au Pairs, and the Micropolitics of Mothering

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Cameron Lynne Macdonald

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 0520947819

Category: Political Science

Page: 288

View: 5920

Shadow Mothers shines new light on an aspect of contemporary motherhood often hidden from view: the need for paid childcare by women returning to the workforce, and the complex bonds mothers forge with the "shadow mothers" they hire. Cameron Lynne Macdonald illuminates both sides of an unequal and complicated relationship. Based on in-depth interviews with professional women and childcare providers— immigrant and American-born nannies as well as European au pairs—Shadow Mothers locates the roots of individual skirmishes between mothers and their childcare providers in broader cultural and social tensions. Macdonald argues that these conflicts arise from unrealistic ideals about mothering and inflexible career paths and work schedules, as well as from the devaluation of paid care work.

Too Close for Comfort?

Questioning the Intimacy of Today's New Mother-Daughter Relationship

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Linda Perlman Gordon,Susan Shaffer

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101133643

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 304

View: 599

A fascinating look at how mothers and their adult daughters have formed a greater friendship than generations past?and whether or not their should be boundaries. No relationship is more complicated than the one between mothers and daughters? especially today, when a cultural shift can cause a longer period of time of overlapping interests before the traditional adult markers of marriage and family. As a result, these young women are developing deeper bonds with their own mothers, a relationship that sometimes mimics friendship. But are these close bonds healthy? Is it time to cut the umbilical cord? In this eye-opening book, Linda Perlman Gordon and Susan Morris Shaffer explore the modern mother-daughter relationship in all its glorious complexity. Combining a brilliant sociological analysis with fascinating stories of real- life women, Too Close for Comfort? provides a rich, provocative look at the ways mothers and daughters get it right, how they get it wrong?and how they can happily maintain being friends as well as mothers and daughters.