Our Friends in Berlin

the breathtaking twist-filled world war two novel you won’t be able to put down in 2019.

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Anthony Quinn

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1473558921

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 9951

‘A smart, tautly rendered, atmospheric beach read’ Metro ‘An addictive cocktail of action, romance and politics’ Observer London, 1941. The city is in blackout and an enemy is hiding in plain sight. Amy Strallen’s life is a world away from the machinations of Nazi sympathisers but she could be the only one who can help uncover the most dangerous Nazi agent in the country. Jack Hoste has become entangled in a national treachery and he needs Amy’s help. When pays a visit to Amy’s office, they are both about to become embroiled in a game that could have deadly consequences... *Perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Transcription*

Press Releases

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: United States Department of State

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 1531

A Parting of the Ways

Carnap, Cassirer, and Heidegger

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Michael Friedman

Publisher: Open Court

ISBN: 0812697553

Category: Philosophy

Page: 144

View: 4043

Since the 1930s, philosophy has been divided into two camps: the analytic tradition which prevails in the Anglophone world and the continental tradition which holds sway over the European continent. A Parting of the Ways looks at the origins of this split through the lens of one defining episode: the disputation in Davos, Switzerland, in 1929, between the two most eminent German philosophers, Ernst Cassirer and Martin Heidegger. This watershed debate was attended by Rudlf Carnap, a representative of the Vienna Circle of logical positivists. Michael Friedman shows how philosophical differences interacted with political events. Both Carnap and Heidegger viewd their philosophical efforts as tied to their radical social outlooks, with Carnap on the left and Heidegger on the right, while Cassirer was in the conciliatory classical tradition of liveral republicanism. The rise of Hitler led to the emigration from Europe of most leading philosophers, including Carnap and Cassirer, leaving Heidegger alone on the continent.

Prelude in Prague

The Alternate World War II, Book One

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: S. Fowler Wright

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 1434403408

Category: Fiction

Page: 252

View: 3479

In 1935 S. Fowler Wright penned the first volume of an SF trilogy based on the notion--then considered absurd--that Adolf Hitler was an evil, empire-seeking megalomaniac bent on conquering the world. First Hitler rearms Germany, then forces Europe to accept the German occupation of Austria, and finally gives Czechoslovakia an ultimatum: accept German rule--or be conquered! The first book of a thrilling alternate history of World War II.

Magic Lantern Empire

Colonialism and Society in Germany

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: John Phillip Short

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN: 0801468221

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 4764

Magic Lantern Empire examines German colonialism as a mass cultural and political phenomenon unfolding at the center of a nascent, conflicted German modernity. John Phillip Short draws together strands of propaganda and visual culture, science and fantasy to show how colonialism developed as a contested form of knowledge that both reproduced and blurred class difference in Germany, initiating the masses into a modern market worldview. A nuanced account of how ordinary Germans understood and articulated the idea of empire, this book draws on a diverse range of sources: police files, spy reports, pulp novels, popular science writing, daily newspapers, and both official and private archives. In Short’s historical narrative—peopled by fantasists and fabulists, by impresarios and amateur photographers, by ex-soldiers and rank-and-file socialists, by the luckless and bored along the margins of German society—colonialism emerges in metropolitan Germany through a dialectic of science and enchantment within the context of sharp class conflict. He begins with the organized colonial movement, with its expert scientific and associational structures and emphatic exclusion of the "masses." He then turns to the grassroots colonialism that thrived among the lower classes, who experienced empire through dime novels, wax museums, and panoramas. Finally, he examines the ambivalent posture of Germany’s socialists, who mounted a trenchant critique of colonialism, while in their reading rooms workers spun imperial fantasies. It was from these conflicts, Short argues, that there first emerged in the early twentieth century a modern German sense of the global.

Players

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: College and school drama

Page: N.A

View: 6414

Greetings to Our Friends in Brazil

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Paul Durcan

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1446484513

Category: Poetry

Page: 272

View: 9588

Paul Durcan has been at the heart of Irish cultural life for 30 years and his poetry has acquired a huge international following. Greetings to Our Friends in Brazil is his most challenging and engaging collection yet, one that addresses itself through Ireland and the Irish diaspora to the whole world beyond.

Ghost Dance in Berlin

A Rhapsody in Gray

DOWNLOAD NOW »

Author: Peter Wortsman

Publisher: Travelers' Tales

ISBN: 1609520793

Category: Travel

Page: 175

View: 3607

Every great city is a restless work in progress, but nowhere is the urban impulse more in flux than in Berlin, that sprawling metropolis located on the fault line of history. A short-lived fever-dream of modernity in the Roaring Twenties, redubbed Germania and primped up into the megalomaniac fantasy of a Thousand-Year Reichstadt in the Thirties, reduced in 1945 to a divided rubble heap, subsequently revived in a schizoid state of post-World War II duality, and reunited in 1989 when the wall came tumbling down — Berlin has since been reborn yet again as the hipster hub of the 21st century. This book is a hopscotch tour in time and space. Part memoir, part travelogue, Ghost Dance in Berlin is an unlikely declaration of love, as much to a place as to a state of mind, by the American-born son of German-speaking Jewish refugees. Peter Wortsman imagines the parallel celebratory haunting of two sets of ghosts, those of the exiled erstwhile owners, a Jewish banker and his family, and those of the Führer’s Minister of Finance and his entourage, who took over title, while in another villa across the lake another gaggle of ghosts is busy planning the Final Solution.